Thursday, July 9, 2015

*ARC* Alive - Review

Alive (Generations #1)

By: Scott Sigler

Published: July 14, 2015 by Del Rey

368 pages

Source: Netgalley ARC from publisher

(Goodreads / Amazon)

From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not only to answers but to survival.

A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth.
Wow. This was more than I was expecting it to be! The range of emotions I felt while reading it were vast: fear, loneliness, anger, sadness, confusion, joy (if only brief). It was a wild ride with twists I wasn't expecting.

So the story goes that a group of 6 kids wake up in a sealed room, locked inside coffins, with not much memory of what happened before or who they are. Though they remember glimpses, they don't remember faces. They each wake up on their 12th birthday but get an incredible surprise when they realize they are in the bodies of those around the age of 20 years.

The mode of survival kicks in and they escape the room in search of adults and safety. What they find are the remains of hundreds, maybe thousands, of bones and bodies from what could only be described as a viscous war. Never ending hallways and doorways all filled with the same thing.

Without giving away anything more, suffice it to say that I enjoyed the mystery, suspense and intrigue of what the characters are trying to discover about this place they are in. The challenges they face along the way. The decisions they are forced to make. This was a great young adult scifi book and I can't wait to see what's in store next!

Favorite Quotes:
"We don't need someone else to rescue us...we can rescue ourselves."

But I'm not going to do the easy thing ... I'm going to do the right thing.

Wishing won't help, and crying doesn't fix anything, because reality is what it is.

We are the Birthday Children, and we will find a way to survive.

Language Rating: 1 (light)
Mature Content Rating: 0 (none)
Final Rating: 4 stars


  1. a survival mystery kind of story!! and setting that sounds intriguing. now I'm really more excited to read this book after reading your thoughts!! Great review! :)

    czai @ the Blacksheep Project

  2. Great Review! Sounds like my kind of book :) I just added it to GR :)


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...