Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Waiting on Our Chemical Hearts

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly post hosted by Breaking the Spine.
Each week bloggers participate to share a book they can't wait to get their hands on.

This week I'm waiting on:

Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland
Expected Publication: September 6, 2016
Preorder Buy Link: Amazon
John Green meets Rainbow Rowell in this irresistible story of first love, broken hearts, and the golden seams that put them back together again.

Henry Page has never been in love. He fancies himself a hopeless romantic, but the slo-mo, heart palpitating, can't-eat-can't-sleep kind of love that he's been hoping for just hasn't been in the cards for him—at least not yet. Instead, he's been happy to focus on his grades, on getting into a semi-decent college and finally becoming editor of his school newspaper. Then Grace Town walks into his first period class on the third Tuesday of senior year and he knows everything's about to change.

Grace isn't who Henry pictured as his dream girl—she walks with a cane, wears oversized boys' clothes, and rarely seems to shower. But when Grace and Henry are both chosen to edit the school paper, he quickly finds himself falling for her. It's obvious there's something broken about Grace, but it seems to make her even more beautiful to Henry, and he wants nothing more than to help her put the pieces back together again. And yet, this isn't your average story of boy meets girl. Krystal Sutherland's brilliant debut is equal parts wit and heartbreak, a potent reminder of the bittersweet bliss that is first love.
What are you waiting on this week?

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Teaser Tuesday #133: Ugly Love


Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat.

Anyone can play along. Just go HERE to learn how to participate.

This week my teasers come from 
Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover:
Teasers: "I don't care if you drink my juice, Tate."
Oh, wow.
That was an oddly sexy sentence.
(Loc 14%)

What are you reading this week?
Share a teaser with me!

Monday, August 22, 2016

Paper Princess - Review

Paper Princess (The Royals #1)

By: Erin Watt

Published: April 3, 2016

370 pages

Source: 

(Goodreads / Amazon)

Summary:
From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.

These Royals will ruin you…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone. 

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

He might be right.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees. 
MY REVIEW:
Delicious and scandalous are two words that come to mind immediately after finishing this story! And OH MAN! That ending?!?!?

Poor girl Ella was raised by a single Mom. A single parent who happened to strip to pay the bills. Though their life was simple, it was all Ella needed, because she felt loved by her mom. But at age 15 her mom got cancer and for 2 years she herself had to turn to stripping to help pay the medical bills plus 2 other jobs and going to school full time. Her life drastically changes when a handsome 40's something man shows up in a suit that costs more than one month of her living expenses. He claims to be her legal guardian and the best friend of her father. The father she's never met. The father she was only told was a sailor and left a really expensive watch for her to have. Basically kidnapping her, because she doesn't exactly go willingly, he swoops her up into his world. A world filled with more money that she can comprehend, a mansion that royalty would live in, and 5 sons who are all extremely gorgeous and extremely lethal.

Fans of Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire and Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines are gonna eat this up!! We are talking extreme juiciness! I can't even deal ya'll.

Top 5 Favorite Quotes:
The apple is dangling in front of me, juicy red and delicious, but, like the fairy tale, Reed Royal is the villain disguised as a pretty prince. Taking a bite out of him would be a huge mistake.

"I need a smoke every time you two are within five feet of each other."

"You belong with us. You're the best thing that ever happened to this family."

Reed Royal, my very own dragon slayer.

Language: 3 (high)
Mature Content: 2-3 (medium - high)
Final Rating: 4.5 stars

Sunday, August 21, 2016

Sunday Post #185

Sunday Post is a weekly post hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer.
Each week bloggers participate to share any books received and news from their week.

~PURCHASED/FREEBIES~
Unknown #1 by Wendy Higgins
Buy Link: Amazon

Broken Prince (The Royals #2) by Erin Watt
Buy Link: Amazon

The Angel Knights - Prequel (#0.5) by Mary Ting
Buy Link: Amazon

~FOR REVIEW~
Kisses on a Paper Airplane by Sarah Vance-Thompson
Buy Link: Amazon

RECAP OF WEEK:
SUNDAY:

TUESDAY:

WEDNESDAY:

THURSDAY:

WHAT'S AHEAD:
Planned Posts:
Review - Paper Princess by Erin Watt
2016 Series Ender Reading Challenge: August Wrap Up

This was a much better productive week of reading for me. So yay for progress there in what has felt like molasses-like-slowness. The weekend was quite busy with traveling to a football game 2 hours away Friday night and husband & daughter being gone all day Saturday to visit family. I took the opportunity with them being gone to do a lot of cleaning and more reading. 

DON'T FORGET:
If you are reading last books in a series you should participate with us in our 3rd year of the 2016 Series Ender Reading Challenge! Anyone can sign up to participate until December 15, 2016! Go HERE for full details and to sign up. We have a giveaway EVERY month open to those that link up reviews and a BIG giveaway open to everyone that participates through the year. Don't miss out!

Enjoy your week!
Thanks for stopping by!

Thursday, August 18, 2016

*ARC* Under the Lights - Review

Under the Lights (The Field Party #2)

By: Abbi Glines

Published: August 23, 2016 by Simon Pulse

336 pages

Source: Netgalley ARC from publisher

(Goodreads / Amazon)

Summary:
In the follow-up to Abbi Glines’s #1 New York Times bestsellerUntil Friday Night—which bestselling author Kami Garcia called “tender, honest, and achingly real”—three teens from a small southern town are stuck in a dramatic love triangle.

Willa can’t erase the bad decisions of her past that led her down the path she’s on now. But she can fight for forgiveness from her family. And she can protect herself by refusing to let anyone else get close to her.

High school quarterback and town golden boy Brady used to be the best of friends with Willa—she even had a crush on him when they were kids. But that’s all changed now: her life choices have made her a different person from the girl he used to know.

Gunner used to be friends with Willa and Brady, too. He too is larger than life and a high school football star—not to mention that his family basically owns the town of Lawton. He loves his life, and doesn’t care about anyone except himself. But Willa is the exception—and he understands the girl she’s become in a way no one else can.

As secrets come to light and hearts are broken, these former childhood friends must face the truth about growing up and falling in love…even if it means losing each other forever.
 
MY REVIEW:
Just when you need a fast, easy and entertaining YA Romance, Abbi Glines releases a new book. And what's more I knew I'd enjoy this series because it centers around a group of best friends who play high school football in Alabama. Yes please!

What starts out appearing like it's going to be a love triangle, pretty quickly choices are made which let the reader know that isn't going to be a major deal with the characters. Both Brady and Gunner have feelings for Willa. Growing up they were all best friends until Willa was moved to Arkansas to live with her mom and her new husband. Brady grew up in a loving home with good supportive parents. Gunner and Willa not so much. Both grew up with parents who didn't show love, let alone speak love. But Willa had her Nonna, her grandmother she lived the first 11 years of her life with, so she learned what love looked like. During the time Willa and Gunner are apart though their lives grow darker and they both have baggage and issues to work through and heal from.

I was disappointed the "happy ending" happened within the last 2% of the book so we don't really get to enjoy much juiciness between Gunner and Willa. I felt like a lot of detail between them wasn't explored enough and other situations with other characters was vague but perhaps that's because other books are planned in the series and some of these characters are vague on purpose. Like Riley, a girl from Gunner's past coming back to town.

Overall I enjoyed the story but it didn't blow me away emotionally. If you're a fan of YA romance AND high school football then definitely pick up this series!

Favorite Quotes:
...good literature was good literature no matter what genre or year it was written.

Kissing Brady had been nice. Kissing Gunner rocked my world.

"Loving someone doesn't mean allowing them to use you for their benefit. It just means they have a place in your heart. A place that they earned."

Language Rating: 2 (medium)
Mature Content Rating: 1 (light)
Final Rating: 3.5 stars

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Empress of a Thousand Skies


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly post hosted by Breaking the Spine.
Each week bloggers participate to share a book they can't wait to get their hands on.

This week I'm waiting on:

Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza
Expected Publication: February 7, 2017 by Razorbill
Preorder Buy Link: Amazon
Empress
Rhee, better known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. She’ll stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne.

Fugitive
Aly has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a holo-vision show. But when he’s falsely accused of killing Rhee, he's forced to prove his innocence to save his reputation – and his life.

Madman
With planets on the brink of war, Rhee and Aly are thrown together to confront a ruthless evil that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy.

***

Rhoda Belleza crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy in her exhilarating debut, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Pierce Brown.
When written well, I do enjoy the occasional young adult Science Fiction story. It has to have some romance, and it can't be all sci-fi details, but I'm interested to see more with this one.
What are you waiting on this week?

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Teaser Tuesday #132: Paper Princess


Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat.

Anyone can play along. Just go HERE to learn how to participate.

This week my teasers come from 
Paper Princess (The Royals #1) by Erin Watt:
Teasers: "Meaning all it takes is one word from him and you'll be nothing here. Insignificant. Invisible. Or worse."
(Loc 17%, 655 of 4021)

This book has been fun so far and I'm only about 20% in currently! Have you read it?

What are you reading this week?
Share a teaser with me!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...